Whitney

YouTube Playlist: Spring Kinda Sprung

Whether you’ve had a spring full of sun, snow, rain, clouds, you name it…here is some music (some with accompanying visuals) to deal with whatever kind of interesting spring weather you’ve had!

 

 

 

YouTube Playlist: Sites and Sounds of Fall Volume II

It’s a big one! 29 tracks/videos waiting for your eyes and ears. Enjoy these tunes as the we shift from fall to winter:

Album announcement from Chicago band, Whitney

Whitney is a most beautiful combination of ex-members of both the Smith Westerns and Unknown Mortal Orchestra. Max Kakacek (ex-Smith Westerns, guitar) and Julien Ehrlich (ex-Unknown Mortal Orchestra, vocals/drums) have come together to create Whitney. The project was created organically during a harsh winter in Chicago after the boys life paths crossed yet again.

Yesterday they announced the release of their debut record as a team,  Light Upon the Lake, which is a result of a high intensity burst of creative energy from the two.

Check the feel good single, “Golden Days”, from Light Upon the Lake which is due out June 3rd on Secretly Canadian:

 

Catch the guys touring this spring:

Sat. Apr. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ Culture Shock – Dunn Meadow – University of Indiana
Tue. Apr. 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ Union
Wed. Apr. 20 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah w/ Wild Nothing
Thu. Apr. 21 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room w/ Wild Nothing
Fri. Apr. 22 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent w/ Wild Nothing
Mon. Apr. 25 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ Wild Nothing
Tue. Apr. 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret w/ Wild Nothing
Wed. Apr. 27 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge w/ Wild Nothing
Thu. Apr. 28 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Wild Nothing
Fri. Apr. 29 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Loading Dock w/ Wild Nothing
Mon. May 2 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club w/ Wild Nothing
Tue. May 3 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall w/ Wild Nothing
Sat. May 7 – Fort Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Sun. May 8 – Lincoln, NE @ Vega w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Mon. May 9 – Des Moines, IA @ Wooly’s w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Tue. May 10 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Thu. May 12 – Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Fri. May 13 – Memphis, TN @ 1884 Lounge – Minglewood Hall w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Sat. May 14 – Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry’s
Tue. May 17 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s Music Diner w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Wed. May 18 – Grand Rapids, MI @ The Pyramid Scheme w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Thu. May 19 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Fri. May 20 – Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium (Dempsey’s Upstairs) w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Sat. May 21 – Winnipeg, MB @ West End Culture Centre w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Mon. May 23 – Saskatoon, SK @ Amigos Cantina w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Tue. May 24 – Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Wed. May 25 – Calgary, AB @ Commonwealth Bar w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Mon. May 30 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Tue. May 31 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahalls
Wed. June 1 – Albany, NY @ The Hollow
Fri. June 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Fri. July 15 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival