Torres

In celebration of tour with Garbage, TORRES covers “Special”

Today, October 6th, TORRES begins her tour with the infamous 90’s rock band, Garbage. In celebration of this tour, TORRES covered their track “Special” off of Garbage’s 1998 record, Version 2.0. With a darker twist, and a slower tempo, TORRES makes “Special” her own.

If you need a reminder of the original or a bit of extra inspiration to see this incredible duo of bands tour, check out the original by Garbage:

You can catch TORRES and Garbage scampering across the US and don’t forget to check out TORRES’ sophomore album, Sprinter, that was released earlier this year.

Tue. Oct. 6 — San Diego, CA @ Humphrey’s Concerts By The Bay w/ Garbage

Wed. Oct. 7 — Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater w/ Garbage

Thu. Oct. 8 — Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre-Los Angeles w/ Garbage

Sat. Oct. 10 — Las Vegas, NV @ The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas (Boulevard Pool) w/ Garbage

Tue. Oct. 13 — Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center w/ Garbage

Wed. Oct. 14 — Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre w/ Garbage

Thu. Oct. 15 — Dallas, TX @ South Side Ballroom w/ Garbage

Sat. Oct. 17 — Chicago, IL @ The Riviera Theatre w/ Garbage

Sun. Oct. 18 — Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theater w/ Garbage

Mon. Oct. 19 — Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre w/ Garbage

Wed. Oct. 21 — Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre w/ Garbage
Thu. Oct. 22 — Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse Music Hall w/ Garbage

Fri. Oct. 23 — Westbury, NY @ The Space at Westbury w/ Garbage

Sat. Oct. 24 — Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre w/ Garbage

Sun. Oct. 25 — Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston w/ Garbage

Mon. Oct. 26 — Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre w/ Garbage

Tue. Oct. 27 — Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern w/ Garbage

Wed. Oct. 28 — Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Garbage
Thu. Oct. 29 — Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Garbage

An addition to the never-ending list of favorites.

It’s so hard to say who my favorite musicians are…so, I just call them all my favorite. I didn’t know this about myself until a co-worker of mine caught me red handed. I was reminiscing about seeing “one of my favorite bands” in concert and he stopped me and said, “Aren’t they all your favorite?” And I realized yes, yes they are.

ANYWAY, I had never heard of Torres, stage name for young Mackenzie Scott’s band, until recently following SXSW coverage by some of my favorite sources. In her early to mid 20s, Scott has a lot to say and people are listening. She release her self-titled debut in 2013 and this May will be releasing her sophomore album, ‘Sprinter.’ The title track is killer:

“Honey” is off of her debut album. Keep in mind she was 20 or 21 during the writing/processing/releasing of this. Incredible:

I can’t wait to hear the rest of the tracks off of ‘Sprinter.’ I will wait patiently.

Top 20 Round 3!

I’ve gathered together my favorite two tracks from the last 10 weeks of playlists! Have a listen and Happy Sunday!

Oh, and if you like that bar in the photo there, let me know because I’m selling it!

Too busy for music?!

I’ve neglected some of my favorite music sources including All Songs Considered, Sound Opinions, Soundcloud, new friends (for example, I’d never heard of Andy Shauf until I did my interview with In HØck…click on these bold words and you can read it) and the Hype Machine. Now that I am back to reality, I’ve been catching up on all of these sources and my musical mind has been absolutely blown. I have nothing more to say but the summary below of what has graced my ears over the last couple of weeks post spring break. Music will never cease to amaze, entertain and shape me. I love that.