Mutual Benefit

Playlist: Fall Vol I

The colors are changing and the temps are dropping! Cozy up to some new tunes:

YouTube Playlist: Sites and Sounds of Fall Volume II

It’s a big one! 29 tracks/videos waiting for your eyes and ears. Enjoy these tunes as the we shift from fall to winter:

Gorgeous video from Mutual Benefit and a new single!: “Lost Dreamers” and “The Hereafter”

The first line of lyrics from “Lost Dreamers”:

Let’s take the long way home, 

Let’s throw away our phones. 

We’re in a time when a lot of us live so attached to devices, social media and emojis and less and less to physical interactions with each other and the world around us. It’s a beautiful age of technology and efficiency and we are connected as a world more than ever. However, we are so distracted from what was here before and still is here. We’re all lost dreamers in a sense. We’re rarely in one place at one time, always tugged from where we are in the moment by something or someone that isn’t even present at that moment. To me, this is what I see and hear from the track “Lost Dreamers” and its accompanying music video. In the video, parts of people and places are deposited in beautiful natural settings: the entrance to a subway system in the middle of a lake and disembodied heads and arms doing their daily tasks in the middle of nowhere.

The idea behind the video came from Jordan Lee’s (Mutual Benefit) idea to allow listeners to share their dreams on his Lost Dreamer website. From these dreams he and director, Ethan Samuel Young, created the video which is a convergence point of what natural beauty there is in the environment and the man made beauty that is NYC.

 

And, in anticipation of the release of Mutual Benefit’s latest record, Skip a Sinking Stone, he has released another beautifully tranquil piece titled, “The Hereafter.” Lee’s gentle voice is nothing short of lullaby-worthy, his lovely lyricism in the midst of supple strings and gorgeously simple piano. “The Hereafter” was the last track to be written for the album. About it Lee says:

“The first song on the album is about being scared that things won’t work out and ‘The Hereafter’ is about learning to let go and finding peace in ‘murky depths where light is found’ when they inevitably don’t.”

Skip a Sinking Stone comes out Friday, May 20th on Mom + Pop. You can find it on iTunes and find Mutual Benefit touring starting May 27th.

Fri. May 27 — Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Sat. May 28 — Lansing, MI @ Mac’s Bar
Mon. May 30 — Pontiac, MI @ Pike Room
Tue. May 31 — Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Wed. June 1 — Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sun. June 5 — Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Mon. June 6 — Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
Wed. June 8 — San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Fri. June 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Resident
Sat. June 11 — San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Tue. June 14 — Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. June 15 — Kansas City, MO @ The Riot Room
Fri. June 17 — St. Louis, MO @ The Luminary Center for the Arts
Sat. June 18 — Columbus, OH @ The Basement
Mon. June 20 — Washington, DC @ DC9
Tue. June 21 — Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Wed. June 22 — New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
Thu. June 23 — Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Fri. June 24 — Boston, MA @ Great Scott

 

 

 

Gorgeous single and video from Mutual Benefit

Mutual Benefit is the musical alias of Brooklyn-based artist, Jordan Lee. His subtly powerful music is touching and warm but also instills a sense of vulnerability in the listener. His latest album, Skip a Sinking Stone, will be out on Mom+Pop this May 20th. This new record comes  after the 2013 release of Mutual Benefit’s debut full length, Love’s Crushing Diamond. The new record is in two parts, the crease of the record obvious and audible. The first half is full of hope and excitement, bursting with love and friendship. In the second half, these feelings, ideals and experiences deteriorate. About the record Lee says:

“I kept coming back to how nice that was, throwing these stones against the water. I thought it was a fitting metaphor for the endeavors I have in my life—sometimes they work out and sometimes they don’t. I think it’s a good exercise in accepting impermanence and failure and these things that are constant, and yet the activity of skipping stones is really relaxing and beautiful.”

“Not For Nothing” is the debut single off of Skip a Sinking Stone. It features exquisitely simple animation that conveys a lifetime of emotion:

Mutual Benefit announces spring 2016 tour dates!

Gentle and melodic, Mutual Benefit’s songs are simple beauties. Mutual Benefit is the musical mastery of Jordan Lee who’s spent recent years moving from place to place and is currently settled in Brooklyn where he head’s the label Kassette Klub. Excitingly, Mutual Benefit was signed to the one and only Mom+Pop label where he joins the likes of Neon Indian, Courtney Barnett and many other talented musicians.

Additionally, you can catch Mutual Benefit this spring touring to support the band, Deer Tick, and the release of a follow-up album to 2013’s Love’s Crushing Diamond. If you need a taste of Mutual Benefit, check out the music video for “Advanced Falconry”, a track off of Love’s Crushing Diamond. 

MUTUAL BENEFIT TOUR DATES:
(all supporting Deer Tick)
Wed. Mar. 2 – Nashville, TN @ City Winery
Thu, Mar. 3 – Mobile, AL @ Merry Widow
Fri. Mar. 4 – Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder
Mon. Mar. 7 – Athens, GA @ Georgia Theater
Tue. Mar. 8 – Charleston, SC @ Pour House
Wed. Mar. 9 – Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theater
Thu. Mar. 10 – Washington, DC @ Sixth & I Synagogue
Fri. Mar. 11 – York, PA @ Strand Capitol Performing Arts Center – Strand Theater
Sat. Mar. 12 – Hartford, CT @ Infinity Hall
Mon. Mar. 14 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
Tue. Mar. 15 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Art Space
Wed. Mar. 16 – Boston, MA @ Sommerville Theater
Fri. Mar. 18 – Albany, NY @ Tralf Theater
Sun. Mar. 20 – Morgantown, WV @ Morgantown Mainstage