Cut Worms debuts with music video for “Like Going Down Sideways”

Max Clarke, the man behind Cut Worms, is based out of NY and his debut record, Alien Sunset, is due out October 20th on Jagjaguwar. The first single accompanied by video, “Like Going Down Sideways”, is a poetic piece that sounds and looks like it came out of the past. Clarke’s voice and instrumental qualities are beautifully aged. The video is shot in a way that also gives the viewer the feeling that they’re viewing something from another generation. About the video Clarke says:

“My girlfriend Caroline filmed and directed the video,” says Clarke. “We shot it on a combination of Super 8 and VHS over the course of a couple weekends in a variety of locations in the New England area—at a 4th of July Barn Party in New Hampshire; at a house in the Berkshires in Massachusetts; At a graveyard; At a Taconic Sculpture Garden which we spotted while driving on the highway. The narrative is intentionally loose like a home movie, and the desired effect was to be like walking into a room where someone is showing found footage and just having to take it for what it is… whatever that is.”

 

 

Look for Alien Sunset October 20th and keep in eye out for him as he may be passing through your town in support of his debut record:

Fri. Sep. 22 || Toronto, ON || Lee’s Palace *
Sat. Sep. 23 || Toronto, ON || Lee’s Palace *
Thur. Sep. 28 || Cambridge, MA || The Sinclair *
Fri. Sep. 29 || Asbury Park, NJ || Stone Pony *
Sat. Sep. 30 || Washington, DC || Black Cat *
Fri. Oct. 20 || Los Angeles, CA || Teragram *
Sat. Oct. 21 || Los Angeles, CA || Teragram *
Sun. Oct 22 || Nashville, TN || City Winery ^
Tue. Oct. 24 || St. Louis, MO || Delmar Hall ^
Wed. Oct. 25 || Kansas City, MO || Knuckleheads ^
Fri. Oct. 27 || St. Paul, MN || Turf Club ^
Sat. Oct. 28 || St. Paul, MN || Turf Club ^
Sun. Oct. 29 || Milwaukee, MN || Turner Hall ^
Tue. Oct. 31 || Chicago, IL || Lincoln Hall ^
Thur. Nov. 2 || Brooklyn, NY || Baby’s All Right (EP Release Show)

* = w/ The Lemon Twigs
^ = w/ Nick Lowe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s