Gorgeous music video from Mitski: “A Burning Hill”

The video captures the gorgeous simplicity that hides the intense complexity of her message in “A Burning Hill.” The track is the conlucding song on her newest record, Puberty 2 which came out in June on Dead Oceans. The emotion you see in her face in the video is real, as real as the lyrics that gently trickle out of her.

“Today I will wear my white button down

I’m tired of wanting more

I think I’m finally worn.”

This song is a sigh of relief, acceptance of reality and embrace of the state of things. About the music video Mitski says:

The director and I spent a weekend just driving around New York and Pennsylvania while the camera kept running, and most of the time I’d forget I was being filmed. It felt like a vacation, but it was also quite emotional, as I was thinking about the song and what it means to me now while jumping in rivers and driving down dirt lanes.” — Mitski

 

Mitski’s tour kicks off on October 31st and you can find Puberty 2 on iTunes and directly from Dead Oceans’ website.

Mon. Oct. 31 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre – SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 1 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Thu. Nov. 3 – Toronto, ON @ Mod Club
Fri. Nov. 4 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Bag
Sat. Nov. 5 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sun. Nov. 6 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Thu. Nov. 10 – Athens, GA @ 40 Watt
Fri. Nov. 11 – Orlando, FL @ Back Booth
Sat. Nov. 12 – Miami, FL @ Gramps
Sun. Nov. 13 – Jacksonville, FL @ Jack Rabbits
Tue. Nov. 15 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Wed. Nov. 16 – Durham, NC @ Motorco
Thu. Nov. 17 – Charlottesville, VA @ Southern Café
Fri. Nov. 18 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat – SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church – SOLD OUT
Mon. Nov. 21 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall – SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel – SOLD OUT
Tue. Feb. 21 – Paris, FR @ Les Etoiles
Wed. Feb. 22 – Switzerland, CH @ Mascotte
Fri. Feb. 24 – Bologna, IT @ Covo Club
Sat. Feb. 25 – Munich, DE @ Milla
Sun. Feb. 26 – Vienna, AT @ B72
Mon. Feb. 27 – Prague, CZ @ MeetFactory
Tue. Feb. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Postbahnhof
Thu. Mar. 2 – Utrecht, NL @ Ekko
Fri. Mar. 3 – Brussels, BE @ Rotonde, Botanique
Sat. Mar. 4 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Mon. Mar. 6 – London, UK @ Village Underground
Tue. Mar. 7 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Thu. Mar. 9 – Manchester, UK @ The Ruby Lounge
Fri. Mar. 10 – Edinburgh, UK @ Electric Circus
Sat. Mar. 11 – Newcastle, UK @ The Cluny

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s