New music video from Alex Cameron: “The Comeback”

Once again, I find myself stumbling for words to describe what it is about Cameron’s music and the simplicity of his music videos that attract me so much. There is sense of integrity and sincerity in his music that is nothing but genuine. The pattern of his music videos is Alex Cameron alone, dancing, swaying, performing for no one but himself, shamelessly. There is a fire behind Cameron’s music, a slow burn that seems it will go up in flames at any moment but Cameron remains stoic and composed but bursting with quiet passion.

In his newest single which is part 3 of a series of music videos/songs about show business, Cameron addresses the topic’s core: trying to keep your place in the business amongst all the greed and egotism.

 

“The Comeback” is off of Alex Cameron’s upcoming record, Jumping the Shark, which is due out August 19th on Secretly Canadian. He’ll be touring in support the new album this fall:

Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In %
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater %
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre %
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer %
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club %
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall %
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw %
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %
Fri. Oct. 21 – Lisbon, PT @ ZDB
Mon. Oct. 24 – Bordeaux, FR @ lboat
Tue. Oct. 25 – Paris, FR @ Pitchfork Avant-Garde
Thu. Oct. 27 – Antwerp, BE @ Autumn Falls (Trix Club)
Sat. Oct. 29 – Ghent, BE @ Autumn Falls (Charlatan)
Mon. Oct. 31 – Namur, BE @ Beautés Soniques
Tue. Nov. 8 – Copenhagen, DK @ Huset KBH
Wed. Nov. 9 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus
Thu. Nov. 10 – Berlin, DE @ ACUD
Fri. Nov. 11 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz
Mon. Nov. 14 – Bristol, UK @ Start the Bus
Tue. Nov. 15 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Wed. Nov. 16 – London, UK @ Moth club
Thu. Nov. 17 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Sat. Nov. 19 – Leeds, UK @ Headrow House
Sun. Nov. 20 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store
Fri. Nov. 25 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos *
Sat. Nov. 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre *
Tue. Nov. 29 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel *
Wed. Nov. 30 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel *

% with Angel Olsen
* with Thee Oh Sees

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s