New music video from Alex Cameron: “Take Care of Business”

Sydney’s Alex Cameron announced he will be releasing his debut record this August 19th on Secretly Canadian. He has already stunned music lovers with his first single the dance-worthy track, “She’s Mine.” Cameron recently released his latest single, “Take Care of Business” along with another simple but poignant music video. There is an honesty and shamelessness that comes from Cameron when he sings and performs in his own music videos. It translates through the recording and through the lens of the camera, directly to you, the viewer/listener. The result is raw, unadulterated.

Here is what Cameron has to say about himself and Jumping the Shark:

My name is Alex Cameron and I won’t waste your time. You talk about my business partner, Roy Molloy, and me, you’re talking about the online cowboys in the wild-west days of the World Wide Web. If you want to know what we’re really about, the elbow of the whole scenario, just look at all the things you wish you’d done differently. All the things you stopped yourself from doing on account of the fear of failure, or rejection. Weigh that up against your ambitions. Think about your work ethic. We’re reclaiming failure as an act of progress. An act of learning. Something to celebrate.

A word’s meaning can change depending on who utters the thing; and so we present characters – shapes are morphed and stories are delivered. And I’ll be frank – some of my stories got some low themes and some low tragic figures.  Not tragic figures like Hamlet (I ain’t no Willy Shakespeare), but modern tragics.  I got sex addicts, internet addicts, love tragics. I got villains, cheats, violent guys flooded with hormones and false bravado.  They’re all in there. Good stories need em.. Some of these characters do and say things that I never would.  Shameful things.  But that’s what villains do.

This is a collection of 4-minute tales written to provide you with insight into the inner workings of failed ambitions and self-destruction. Unedited, uncensored, and without inhibition. I’ve learned to reveal what I want to unlearn. I cast a light on the darkness and in doing so understand love and compassion. Fear is to be confronted, and to learn strictly requires failure – over and over. Celebrate failure with Jumping The Shark.

I await Cameron’s debut record, Jumping the Shark, with great anticipation. Tour dates below:

Mon. June 20 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo *
Tue June 21 – Cambridge, UK @ Junction *
Wed. June 22 – Liverpool, UK @ East Village Arts Club *
Tue. June 28 – London, UK @ Koko (Sold Out) #
Wed. June 29 – London, UK @ The Waiting Room
Thu. July 7 – Hungary, HU @ Akvárium #
Fri. July 8 – Zagreb, HR @ Mocvara Backyard #
Sat. July 9 – Vienna, AT @ WUK #
Sun. July 10 – Kutna Hora, CZ @ Creepee Teepee Festival
Tue. July 12 – Munich, DE @ Technikum #
Wed. July 13 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rockhal #
Thu. July 14 – Amsterdam, NL @ De School
Sat. July 16 – Saint-Aubin-sur-mer, FR @ Pete The Monkey Festival
Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In %
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater %
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre %
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer %
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club %
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall %
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw %
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %

% with Angel Olsen
* with Unknown Mortal Orchestra
# with Mac DeMarco

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s