New single and EP announcement from Australian songstress, Gordi

22 year old Sophie Payton grew up in a truly rural part of Australia, Canowindra in New South Wales. It was here she fell in love with the piano and later the steel string, her musical itch and natural talent fostered by her mother, a music teacher. After releasing a fantastic cover of Courtney Barnett’s “Avant Gardener” which created waves in the music world, Gordi is excited to announce the release of her debut EP. The EP, titled Clever Disguise, will be released on Jagjaguwar, digitally on May 13th and physical copies will be available on June 8th. The EP is a collaborative work that features contributions from Alex Somers (Sigur Ros, Julianna Barwick) and Francois Tetaz (Gotye, Architecture In Helsinki).

In celebration of the EP announcement, Gordi released the first single from Clever Disguise. “Can We Work It Out” is a gorgeous and thunderous pop piece decorated with thick harmonies and a lyrical cameo for her EP title.

Just open your eyes and see that we are failing at our clever disguise

 

You can catch Gordi touring in Australia, the UK and the US this spring and early summer:

GORDI TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):
Thu. Apr. 28 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Fri. Apr. 29 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Wed. May 4 – Melbourne, AU @ Palais Theatre (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Thu. May 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Palais Theatre (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Sun. May 22 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s (w/ Highasakite)
Mon. May 23 – Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute (w/ Highasakite)
Tue. May 24 – London, UK @ Village Underground (w/ Highasakite)
Fri. May 27 – George, WA @ Sasquatch! Music Festival
Mon. May 30 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Wed. June 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo (Neon Gold’s PopShop Presents)
Sat. June 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Icehouse
Mon. June 6 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Tue. June 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Thu. June 9 – New York, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall (Communion Presents)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s