Exciting news from Brooklyn-based boys, Small Black!

Small Black is Josh Kolenik, Ryan Heyner, Juan Pieczanski, and Jeff Curtin. They recently announced the release of their third full length record, titled Best Blues. It’s due out October 16th of this year on Jagjaguwar and includes collaborations with Nicholas Vernhes who works with The War on Drugs and Deerhunter, Darbi Cicci of The Antlers on trumpet, and Kaede Forde with additional vocals. Best Blues is a record telling stories of loss both of persons and memories, partially inspired by times singer Kolenik spent sifting through water damaged photos at his family’s home in Long Island that was flooded during Hurrican Sandy. In fact, the album cover is one of these very photos. The first single was released today, “Boys Life.” Listen below:

Small Black’s fall tour starts October 11th in Richmond, VA but you can catch them many places after:

Sun. Oct. 11 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter *
Tue. Oct. 13 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *
Wed. Oct. 14 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa *
Fri. Oct. 16 – Austin, TX @ Red 7 *
Sat. Oct. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada *
Tue. Oct. 20 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *
Wed. Oct. 21 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Fri. Oct. 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy Theatre
Sat. Oct. 24 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Mon. Oct. 26 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge *
Tue. Oct. 27 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *
Wed. Oct. 28 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile – Back Bar *
Thu. Oct. 29 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *
Fri. Oct. 30 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge *
Sat. Oct. 31 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *
Mon. Nov. 2 – Kansas City, MO @ The Tank Room *
Tue. Nov. 3 – Iowa City, IA @ The Mill *
Wed. Nov. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry *
Fri. Nov. 6 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *
Sat. Nov. 7 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory *
Sun. Nov. 8 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison *
Tue. Nov. 10 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa *
Wed. Nov. 11 – Burlington, TV @ Signal Kitchen *
Thu. Nov. 12 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall *
Sat. Nov. 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right *

* w/ Painted Palms

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s